What will I be?

If we are what we eat, then I would rather be an apple or a stem of broccoli than a scoop of ice cream or a pile of French fries. Don’t get me wrong, I love ice cream and French fries, but they don’t add much in the way of helping my body to feel energetic and healthy.

I treat myself to a serving of ice cream and French fries on occasion because they taste so good, but I find I’m left feeling sluggish and heavy with a blob of fat in my stomach. I wonder if it’s worth it – probably not. I think the solution for me is to have a child size ice cream cone or a couple of fries off someone else’s plate if they’re willing to share.

I know that when I eat an apple, it’s going to give me some much needed energy and it’s a great thing to eat at the end of a work day when I have to go home and make dinner.

I also know that broccoli is going to give me the nutrients I need to help my body to prevent cancer cells from growing. There are many other power house foods which help me to stay well and have the energy to take my dog for a walk or play with my grandchildren.

I’m grateful that I live in a country where there are so many choices about what to eat, and fresh fruits and vegetables are available all year round. Nothing has more eye appeal to me than a fresh fruit salad or a plate full of colorful veggies.

If you want to raise your energy level today, try eating an apple in place of another snack and see if you can tell the difference too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

