Is this good for my health?

Long ago, when I was in cancer recovery stage, I decided to make my health the number one priority in my life.

This means every time I make a decision on a lifestyle issue, I ask myself “Is this good for my health?” before making the decision. Over the years, I’ve slipped off the path many times, but in general I’ve maintained this habit.

Not everyone makes the same choice. I know people who have cancer who say “If I’m going to die soon, I’m going to live the rest of my time as I want” which means drinking, smoking, partying etc.

My point is that they’re making a choice to put their health behind having fun on their list of priorities.

We’re all going to die; but when I was diagnosed with cancer, I wasn’t ready to die, and I was fortunate enough that my cancer was diagnosed early enough to give me the choice to get well.

Many people are diagnosed too late and don’t have too many choices. However, many people are diagnosed, like me, in time to reverse the process of cancer. This gives them the choice to make lifestyle changes which promote good health, and they can recover from cancer to live many more years than they might think.

I’ve worked really hard to stay well, and it’s been such a pleasure to watch my kids grow up and now spend time with my grandchildren. It has been worth every sacrifice I’ve ever made to raise my quality of life, and as a result extend my life way longer than I thought I could when my cancer was diagnosed.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Is this good for my health?”

  1. JBBC Says:

    You are so right! As a breast cancer survivor myself, I too strive to make healthy lifestyle choices in the hope that I will reduce my chances of recurrence and live a life of more energy, and increased wellness and balance. I now take the time to prepare good nutritionally balanced meals, try to keep my weight in check, take regular exercise, and spend as much time in nature and fresh air as I can. I think we owe it ourselves as survivors after what our bodies, minds and souls have been through. I am enjoying reading your blog.
    http://beyondbreastcancer.wordpress.com/2009/05/29/5-tips-for-living-well-after-breast-cancer/

    • lynnroodbol Says:

      Thank you for your welcome comments – it’s great to know there are like minded people out there.
      I truly believe that more people could prevent cancer and recurrence of cancer, and raise their quality of life after a diagnosis of cancer, by making the lifestyle choices that you and I have made.
      As a Wellness Coach, I hope to help as many people as possible who want to do that.
      Please keep in touch, and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

