Unresolved issues

Reading an article about Farrah Fawcett in the Globe and Mail today made me think about a friend who died of breast cancer many years ago. Farrah Fawcett is dying and has a son in prison on drug related charges. My friend had a son in prison and was unable to come to grips with the fact that he was charged as a criminal. It was sad to watch my friend die with such a huge issue that was unresolved.

There are many versions of the theory: “Live in the moment”, but it’s hard to do when we drag so much of the past around. Letting go of past issues makes it easier to live in the present and to feel healthy and happy when we focus on what’s going on right now.

After my diagnosis of cancer, I broke down emotionally and knew I had to do some work if I wanted to be healthy again. I saw a psychologist who helped me to uncover the unresolved issues in my life; she helped me to face all my unfinished business through discussion and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy so I could let it go.

The act of letting go of pain and grief of the past was such a relief; I shed a huge weight that I’d been carrying around for years. All that unnecessary “stuff” had drained my energy to the point where I was physically, mentally and emotionally sick.

It was a choice, and one that seemed so hard to make became easy when I sought help to deal with it. What a difference it made to me and everyone around me; I found simple pleasures to be so rewarding. We had roses outside the front door and I made a habit of stopping to smell them every day.

I truly believe that letting go of unresolved issues moved me a long way on the road to obtaining the peace of mind which many people believe to be the ultimate goal in life.

It’s too late for my friend, but I hope that Farrah Fawcett will die in peace.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Unresolved issues”

  1. Attimituemy Says:

    OMG loved reading this post. I added your rss to my reader.

Leave a Reply

