Are you dissatisfied with your job?

If you’re overly stressed at work and it’s getting you down, do you think it’s time to look at what’s going on and change your thoughts? You may need to change your job, but since times are tough, you can be more satisfied right now if you’re able to look at things in a different light.

According to an article I read years ago, job dissatisfaction is the greatest source of stress and stress is a major contributor to poor health. Since I had cancer at the time, I decided to pay attention. Before you get to that end result, please consider making the downward spiral stop, and turn it around so the spiral is moving up to a better state of mental, physical, and emotional health.

I recently spoke to someone who used to be calm and outwardly content when she spoke of her job. She’s now finding it’s stressful; when I asked what kind of stress, she said it’s caused by different personalities at work. I can relate to that having worked in a hospital for years and witnessed many power struggles. Does this kind of stress help us to get work done? No – it drains energy for no good reason!

Some forms of stress are good if we’re energized and able to move forward with projects, timelines, etc. The energy that comes from good stress can help us plow through work effectively and efficiently, so we’re satisfied with what we’ve accomplished.

Power struggles don’t work much after we’re 2 years old; even if we win, we’ve lost, because it costs us big time in emotional energy. Personality conflicts and power struggles will always exist at some level because no two people think alike all the time.

What can I do to save myself from the grief of job dissatisfaction caused by personality differences? I can choose my thoughts to help me see things another way. Everyone has a unique perspective on life, and a right to be heard. If I see a power struggle starting, it helps me to take a step back and get to a place where I can be objective. These things happen fast so I have to act fast; doesn’t always work, but it gets easier with practice.

No matter what, the time and energy we put in to being objective is always worth the effort to reduce unnecessary stress. It helps if we’re able to come from a place of love not fear. If our thoughts change, and we’re able to view things in a more loving framework, our perception of job satisfaction will be more positive and supportive, and we’ll feel better about ourselves.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

