Economic pressures

When my husband lost his job, I thought the world would come to an end. The world as I knew it had come to an end, but since this happened in 1985 and we’re still here, my thinking was out of line. I see many people going through this situation now and even though it’s widespread and not a personal embarrassment, it’s a huge challenge to figure out what to do next.

The one thing that has helped me the most is to reach out to other people, and to talk to others about my feelings and thoughts. I was unable to do this at first, and it wasn’t until a year later when I was diagnosed with cancer that I realized I’d been in denial when I thought I was coping.

I’m glad to hear that the crisis lines are busy now because it means that people are reaching out for help. Talking through the pressures of life is a release and it really does help to put things into perspective. Being supported by someone else doesn’t mean I’m weak, it means I’m human; besides, when I allow someone to support me I know they feel supported by me as well.

My life has improved so much with the lessons I’ve learned from the crises of unemployment and cancer. There are many ways for people to get help in moving forward and it’s an individual process to figure it out. One of the common threads many people use in surviving cancer is to reach out to others; they build a strong support system which gives them something to hang on to as they make their way through the swamp.

If you don’t have a good network, just take a look around and be open to connecting with the people who cross your path. I am a wellness coach, and I know it’s easier to do anything you want to do when you have someone beside you to cheer you on and provide encouragement when you need it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

