What’s in it for me?

Out of a sense of duty, I’ve done things for other people that I didn’t want to do on many occasions. Don’t get me wrong, I love to do things for other people; sometimes I think I’m a professional volunteer. However, if I continue to do things I don’t want to do, it can build resentment and bitterness; and neither one of these states is good for my health.

It just happened again, and I woke up this morning thinking “OK if I have to do this job, what’s in it for me?” As soon as I started to think of what I would receive if I fulfill my commitment, it changed my whole outlook. Now instead of doing the job because I should do, I’m doing it because I want to.

It’s amazing how doors open when you view things differently. To confirm my thoughts, this quote arrived in an e-mail from Michael Neill this morning:

“The only real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” – Marcel Proust

If you find yourself in a similar situation where you’re committed to something and your heart isn’t in it, try looking at it from the perspective of what you can learn, what difference it will make in your life, what blocks will be removed so that you’re able to have more joy in your life. I hope that you too will be motivated by a change in perspective which will ultimately improve your life.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

