Cancer Recovery 11

One of the hardest things I had to deal with after a diagnosis of cancer was the loss of control of my life. Before cancer I liked to think I could control most of the events in my life, but apparently it wasn’t so. Cancer took away that false sense of control in 1 fell swoop, and the medical system dictated where I’d be and what I’d do for the next 6 months. I had some choices, but I was so afraid to make the wrong choice about treatment, surgery etc. nothing seemed like a good choice. I would have preferred to turn the clock back and be healthy again. Since no one has figured out how to turn the clock back, the time came when I had to figure out how to move forward.

 

It took me a while to realize that if I could take charge of my life on a day to day basis, then things didn’t look so bad. The past was unchangeable and the future was overwhelming, so I found comfort in thinking about one day at a time.

 

I learned how important it is to live according to the following theme:

Live for today!

Today is a present!

Live in the moment!

One step at a time!

Every day is a new beginning!

Seize the day!

 

The message from many sources is the same, but it’s a way of living with the least amount of distress and the most peace.

I learned to let go of my false sense of control, since the only thing we can really control in life is our thoughts. Whatever is out there is internalized by our perspective; we can change our lives by the way we see things. The theme for this is: “It’s not what happens to you, it’s how you cope that matters”.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

